What our clients say about us

      "Santi, thank you so much for a wonderful experience visiting and birding in Spain. I really apreciate your expertise and your patience in making sure everyone of us would see every possible bird! And would have a chance to taste so much wonderful food. I hope to return to Spain and to see you again some day."

Grace (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2014

      "John, thank you for making the bird watching wonderful. Your expert knowledge and guidance was great. We saw many birds and some beautiful countryside. Next stop - Germany."

Indra & Heiko (Australia), Extremadura, October 2013

      "It certainly was an excellent week - thank you John - enhanced by your extensive knowledge of the area & your broad wildlife skills in the field. The Raptor passage was magnificent, a real day to remember. We both thoroughly enjoyed the week. Thanks again"

Audrey & John Spring (GB), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2013 (2nd Tour)

      "What a wonderful trip you gave me! Love it"

Suk Kam Trippier (GB), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2013

      "Once again a great trip, thanks for all your hard work!"

Celia & Jeff Holmes (GB), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2013

      "A memorable holiday! Raptors gallore, thank you so much..."

Peter Hilton (GB), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2013

      "Many thanks for the excellent trip, good birds and food!"

Clive Holman (GB), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2013

      "Thanks for a fantastic experience!"

Dean Hancock (GB), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2013

      "Hi John, I am sorry about the delay in sending you an email to tell you what a great trip I (we) had with you in May. With your skilled, personable and knowledgeable guiding, we saw an incredible array of the "must see" birds of our itinerary. However, in addition to spotting the birds (often in difficult weather situations), you showed us some of the most spectacular scenery and habitat I have ever seen anywhere. You were also a gracious host, always insuring that our group was comfortable, well-fed (perhaps too well:)). I would heartily recommend both you and Spainbirds to anyone wanting to visit Spain and I would heartily recommend Spain to anyone interested in birding in general. We all enjoyed your company, which only helped to make our trip more fun for all of us. I hope to return to Spain soon and I will definitely contact Spainbirds as part of my future trips."

Ann Kovich (USA), Extremadura & Pyrenees, May 2013

      "Five star recommendation for Spainbirds Nature Tours: A group of four American nature lovers/birders did a 10 day trip in May 2013 with the primary focus on birding in the Extremadura and Pyrenees (Hecho Valley) regions of Spain. Spainbirds created a customized program which included a guide, transportation (minivan), lodging, and food. Our guide was John Muddeman. originally from UK, but now virtually a Spainard with his knowledge of the language, the culture, the geography, flora, fauna and specialty in birds. John identified birds by song, habitat, flight pattern, behavour, long before we had our binoculars pointed in the right direction. Then in a flash he would be helping us to find the bird and setting up the spotting scope (which he carried everywhere all the time) and get the target bird in the middle of the scope's viewing field for everybody to see clearly. When the weather did not cooperate and made birding difficult (freezing temps plus howling wind), John cleverly revised the program to make the most of difficult conditions. We had bonus non-bird sitings every day, e.g., red deer, red fox, chamois, roe deer, reptiles, amphibians, butterflies, wildflowers, orchids, native grasses. John made sure we had great creature comforts also (lodging near habitats, good food, coffee/ bathroom breaks. Every evening we reviewed the birds seen (and heard) for the day, locations visited, and planned the following day based on weather and John's timely data on rare birds observed, nesting sites, and his experience. Everybody had fun, learned a lot, saw over 165 species of birds, and would highly recommend John Muddeman / Spainbirds. "

Patricia Perry (USA), Extremadura & Pyrenees, May 2013

      "Dear Santi, we have enjoyed this trip very much and have learned a lot about the birds in Spain. We enjoyed talking to you about Spain and seeing the different regions. You and Brian have been hard working energetic. We very much appreciate your efforts. Thank you!"

L.M. & C.B. (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2013

      "Santi, Gracias por todo! We had a great time in your country!"

Keith & Jackie Parker (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2013

      "What a wonderful country Spain is! The scenery is spectacular and the birds wonderful! I really enjoyed our "sampler" lunches and dinners and I full experienced the real, genuine Spain. Thanks for helping me to find all that birds!"

J.W. (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2013

      "Dear Santi, we really enjoyed hearing about the history and culture of your country as well as seeing the birds. We loved seeing your beautiful country through your eyes!"

Ronnie & Denny Simon (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2013

      "Nancy and I want to thank you for such a super birding trip in the Pyrenees. We really had a great time, saw some great birds, and fell in love with Spain. You run an excellent trip, just the right pace, and the food was fabulous. We’ll never forget the “raciones.” We also really liked the Hotel Uson. Please convey to the managers there how much we liked their establishment, and how good it is that they cater to birders, especially in a place like Spain where the very LATE dinner hours in most places are definitely not birder-friendly!"

Charles & Nancy Bell (USA), Spanish Pyrenees, June 2012

      "Thank you for introducing us to the birds of Spain, as well as the great food and wonderful scenery. This is a country we will certainly return to. And we'll check your web site for advice about places to visit and places to stay."

Geoff Crooks & Beth Morrison (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2012

      "We have had a wonderful time in your country enjoying the hospitality, food, accommodations and history. I hope that we have an opportunity in the future to travel with you again."

Leonie Batkin & Ron Thorn (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2012

      "It was wonderful meeting you and birding with you. You are a wonderful trip leader and we hope to see you again... in the USA or maybe again in Europe! We loved all the hotels you picked, and enjoyed al the delicious foods and wines. We will be looking for "cortados" at Starbucks when we arrive home. We saw 130 live birds with you... Amazing!"

Donna Paino and Caryl Leong (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2012

      "Hi Santi Just to say thank you very much for my wonderful T Shirt (and the brilliant week in April with the Bristol BOC group). I still keep smiling when I think of "our Lynx". Hope to see you again on trips in the future."

Shirley Ayers (UK), Lynx Tour April 2012

      "After scanning the hillsides with our binoculars on the first morning, we encountered a large male lynx on the roadside near where we had been standing earlier. He crossed the road in front of us and walked slowly up the hill. Two days later we had an even closer sighting when we came across a younger animal beside the road which stayed lying in the shade while we stopped the car and waited while we took photographs. Santi is an extremely knowledgeable naturalist, particularly regarding birds; he speaks excellent English and is very good company. His trips are well organised and he is very attentive to the needs of his clients. It was the most exciting wild-life experience in my life!"

Patricia Cammack (UK), Lynx Tour March 2012

      "Thank you once again for the fabulous week of bird watching."

Adrian G. Adams (UK), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2011

      "Another brilliant holiday! Many thanks. Hope to see you next year or sooner!"

Celia & Jeff Holmes (UK), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2011

      "Excellent trip with plenty of birds. Many thanks for your hard work!"

Clive Holman (UK), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2011

      "Santi, I have not written before to say a Big Thank you for such a wonderful week and all the raptors... you always took us to the right places. I hope I can come with you again!"

Betty Watts (UK), Strait of Gibraltar, September 2011

      "Thanks for the report/photos. Heike & I want to thank you and Santi for your help in making this a delightful and memorable tour (despite my personal lack of success during the last day-and-a-half). The rest of the tour was wildly successful in terms of the diversity of birds seen/seen well, the magnificent mountain scenery and the professionalism demonstrated by both guides throughout."

Bert & Heike Charest (USA), Spain Tour for VENT, May 2011

      "We arrived home in the UK yesterday morning as planned. This is just a quick mail to say what a fantastic couple of days we had out in the field on Thursday and Friday. Thank you so much for your hard work, and great skill, in finding so many species for us both. I hope your trips in June go well. All best wishes."

Andy Davis & Dick (UK), Private trip Madrid, May 2011

      "We have most pleasant memories of our week-long tour with you, and we have been enjoying photographs, videos, and recordings we made during the tour.

After a few days of work, I have compiled our bird records and can offer you the attached PDF files, showing our lists of new birds (lifers) and all birds observed in Spain, including our explorations alone in Madrid and Barcelona. One third of the birds seen were lifers. No more than that were new because of our 2007 trip to Morocco, as we discussed in person."


David & Tadd Ottman (USA), Extremadura, May 2011

      "It was so lovely to see you again and thank you so much for the day, it was truly amazing! "

Helen Wilson (UK), Private trip La Mancha, February 2011

      "Thank you very much for your blog write-up and the pictures. I very much enjoyed sharing the trip with you and appreciate all the effort and focus you put into tracking down my target birds. It was great fun and productive. I hope to see you on a future trip and will definitely recommend you to anyone going to Spain or Morocco. Have a great season and thanks again."

Sterling Blanchard (USA), Central Spain, October 2010

      "I am back in the USA from Norway, and I want to thank you for a very successful three days of birding in the Madrid area. I am quite pleased with the list of birds seen that we achieved. All three days were highly productive: the two bustards, one sandgrouse in the Jarama plains, plus rock and cirl buntings and blue rock-thrush on the first day; the really great waterbirds, including white-headed duck, especially at the pond near Alcazar de San Juan the second day; the Guadarrama mountain birds of crossbill, citril finch, goldcrest, and rufous-tailed rock-thrush the third day, followed by azure-winged magpies and imperial eagle, and finally hawfinch in El Pardo. And while I mentioned mostly target birds above, I loved seeing all the birds! It was great, and I am glad it was you who guided me."

Shawn Concannon (USA), Central Spain, April 2010

      "We came back late last evening but our luggage arrived today afternoon; no problem because only used clothes in the luggage. Memories we carry with us and the good feeling from our trip to La Mancha stays for a long time. Muchisimas gracias!"

Tuula & Pekka Saloovara (Finland), Private trip La Mancha, October 2009

      "I just wanted to take a minute to thank you, again, for such a great day on Monday. It exceeded all expectations."

Paul Pisano (USA), Private Trip Madrid, March 2009

      "We had a great couple of days with Santiago in October. After seeing about 6 Citril Finches in the morning cold we were soon in the warmth of the plains. We saw 2 Dupont's Larks well with Santiago scoping a singing bird close to the road as soon as we arrived at 1pm! "El Diablo" was in the bag. A further 2 singing bird were seen the next morning with several others singing nearby. Many thanks."

Michael Whiteside, (UK), Madrid & Sepúlveda, October 2008

      "Len sent us a selection of your photos from our trip when he returned from Spain. They are all absolutely wonderful and lovely souvenir of our holiday - many many thanks. The Bluethroat was stunning and the memories of that day will always be with us."

Jeff & Celia Holmes, (UK), Extremadura & Gredos, May 2008

      "Dear Santiago, Thank you for a wonderful week. I saw all the birds that I wanted to see, 12 new species and better views of many others. It was so helpful to have your expert guide to identification. The scenery and flowers were breathtaking. The flypast of the bustards and the sandgrouse were memorable and I had never seen stone curlew in flight before. (...) I would love to do another Spainbirds trip sometime. Best wishes, Margaret."

Margaret Gorely, (UK), Extremadura & Gredos, May 2008

      "Many thanks for your expert help on a great birding tour. Both Dave and yourself made this trip me an unforgettable experience. I recorded 55 new sightings!!!!!! One of the best for me was the Rufous-tailed Rock Thrush, Hope to see you at the Bird Fair in august. All the very best for 2008"

Deryck Leivers, (UK), Extremadura with Heatherlea, April 2008

      "Great few days. Birds were stunning - quantity and quality. Santi's ability to locate different species to order was incredible, even allowing for his knowledge of the area. Organisation and customer care were outstanding. A sentence for Santi: With the success of the last trip (to Donana) you raised our expectations for this one to a new high and still you managed to satisfy them. I'd just like to say thanks for a great few days; good company, fine weather, good food (despite the pork) and awesome birds."

Lady Bay Birders, (UK), Extremadura, April 2008

      "Can I say (yet again) how much I enjoyed the trip to Extremadura. Thank you for all you did for us. You were superb! Very best wishes to you."

Alan Birchall, (UK), Extremadura, April 2008

      "Santi, Just a quick note to say many thanks for the excellent trip you organised for RSPB south-east Hertfordshire Group. Good accomodation and meals (including catering for my vegetarian requirements !), quality transport and with superb birdwatching and guidance made it a trip to remember with life birds such as the two Sand Grouses, Black Wheatear, Great Spotted Cuckoo, Crested Coot and Lesser Short-toed Lark. I shall certainly recommend Spainbirds to other UK birdwatchers. Only problem was leaving Seville at 26 degrees and arriving Stanstead at 4 degrees and snow on the ground ! Best wishes to yourself and Jose."

John Clark, (UK), Extremadura & Doņana, March 2008

      "Thank you for that absolutely wonderfully full report of our explorations with you and Jose of Extremadura and Donana. It brought it all back. At the December meeting of our local RSPB group, some of us will show our pictures and talk about our great Spanish tour under the brilliant guidance of the good-natured and patient Santi and the good-looking Jose!! We saw some wonderful birds and orchids. Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write the report. I will certainly treasure it."

June Crew, (UK), Extremadura & Doņana, March 2008

      "The trip report you sent me has brought back some very pleasant memories, and reminded me just what a superb country Spain is for wildlife. I look forward to joining you on another trip in the future."

Paul Coppi, (UK), Extremadura & Doņana, March 2008

      "Thanks again for a really great holiday. It was a really splendid birding holiday - complete with Spanish lessons!"

Leonard Clark, (UK), Pyrenees & Ebro steppes, June 2007

      " Many thanks fora great day out. I did not think we would get Little Bustard but you produced the goods! Thanks again..."

Adrian Mann, (UK), Private Trip to Madrid, June 2007

      "Dear Santiago, just to thank you for a very enjoyable and successful trip. Your excellent field skills helped enormously to increase the number of species seen. Mary has been studying her trip and prior records and now calculates 162 seen, with more heard eg Quail. We added a few to our life list and more to our "Europe" list, eg Red-knobbed Coot."

Ian & Mary Johnston, (UK), Extremadura & Doņana, April 2007

      "Dear Santiago, thanks to you we enjoyed our time in Madrid very much and we were pleased with your guiding. I will contact you soon regarding the Trip to Extremadura for next year. I am checking with Heikki about a possible time for us!"

Markuu Helle (Finland), Photographic Tour to Central Spain, March 2007

      "Thank you for an excellent day! Dave and I enjoyed everything including the excellent views of the Spanish Imperial Eagle and the Red-legged Partridge, two extremes but both special. Your arrangements were perfect and we really appreciate your picking us up at our hotel. We had a great time!"

David & Elise Moore, (USA), Private Trip to Madrid, February 2007

     

"Dear Santi, many many thanks for a most successful and truly memorable long weekend birdwatching in the Extramadura region. With your highly tuned senses for hearing and seeing the birds and a little bit of luck with the weather we ended with an excellent check list of over 90 birds. Your constant concern for our comfort was much appreciated and the busy schedule never seemed rushed. Thank you for a really worthwhile trip."


Dave R. (UK), Winner of the BBWF 2006 raffle - Long Weekend Trip To Extremadura, January 2007

      "Let me again say, that we had a really great time birding with you and Margit told me again and again how happy she is that we went with you and didn't rent a car on our own. And all the ones that got away this time are all the more welcome when we come back someday. And come back we will. Good luck for you and your company and hope to bird with you again!"

Aaron Ofner & Margit (Austria), Private Trip to Madrid and La Mancha, October 2006

      "We wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our day birding with you on 5th October. We were really amazed at how much you were able to show us within sight of the Puerta de Europa - plus the Eagle Owl. As I think you could see, we are both thrilled to have seen Great Bustards at last. (...) The following week we spent a day in Monfrague (...). On the way back to Trujillo we spotted Little Bustard on the Llanos de Belen and the next day two groups of Great Bustard from the rough road to Caceres that you mentioned. Our best regards,"

Jacolyn & John Wakeford (UK), Private Trip to Madrid, October 2006

      "We are home and we wanted to thank you for the wonderful trip. We really had a great time and enjoyed your tour immensely. The birds, scenery, accommodation and food were excellent. It was also a very nice group of people. I have been on a lot of birding tours all over the world and you are one of the best guides I have had – anywhere!"

Bob Tallyn & Betsy Bachman (USA), Strait of Gibraltar: Migration To Africa, September 2006

      "Both Peter and I greatly enjoyed the trip. We thought you did an excellent job of selecting the route and guiding, and your expertise in identifying bird calls and local birds, and selecting endemics and target birds, was very helpful. I will certainly consider another birding trip if I am in or near Spain in future!"

Douglas Galasco (USA), Private Trip to Madrid, July 2006

      "Just a brief note to thank you again for a wonderful birding day last Saturday. It was certainly one of the best days I have enjoyed in the field for a long time. We had excellent views of a family party of Hawfinches in the Botanical Gardens in Madrid on Monday,also close views of Queen of Spain Frits there".

Andy Davis (UK), Private Trip to Madrid, June 2006

      "Just want to say thanks again for a really nice trip. The birds and the company were especially nice and you did so much to make it special for us. Trip home seemed long but was OK. Have heard from several of the group who also had a fine experience. Hope to see more of Spain in the future."

Margie Rahner (USA), Pyrenees and Ebro steppes, June 2006

      "Thanks for an excellent trip,great birds,great company,couldn't have asked for more.Oh,I almost forgot--------the leader wasn't bad either... :-)"

Steve Moore (UK), Pyrenees and Ebro steppes, June 2006

      "We both (Kryn and me) enjoyed the trip. Both the birds and your company. It was good to meet up again.We are both very keen to do the Picos de Europa trip next year. Hopefully you will be able to fit us into your schedule May/June '07. Hopefully see you at the Bird Fair in August".

Gary Hayward (UK), Private Trip to Madrid and Gredos, May 2006

      "Just a quick e-mail to thank you for such a good holiday. Fantastic birds, great company, excellent food and accommodation, plenty to drink – just fantastic. I found the whole break thoroughly enjoyable. Your ability to spot birds never ceases to amaze me. Thanks for all your efforts to make the holiday such a success."

Nick Dalton (UK), Digiscoping Trip to Doņana, May 2006

      "This is a quick note to say a very big thankyou for a superb weekend. The whole group is lost for words on the quality of the birds seen and the quality of the leadership. Everything went so smoothly and I now know why, as children, we spend so long on the beach digging holes - it is in preparation for digging out vehicles when they get stuck in sand".

Keith Rainford (UK), Long Weekend Trip to Doņana, May 2006

      "...I just wanted to say thank you again for a wonderful week. I saw and learnt so much. (Calamon!!!). I also really enjoyed the rest of my trip around spain. You have a very beautiful country. I am hoping to go back again next year (maybe to the Pyrenees) so please let me know what trips you will be running next year when you can. Hopefully by then my Spanish will have improved".

Thanks Again

Adam Denyier (UK), Extremadura & Doņana, April 2006

      "...I spent a beautiful day with Santiago Villa in Monfrague Park on March 15, 2006, seeing the many raptors that the park has to offer. Santiago is a wonderful guide who generously shares his abundant knowledge of the birds' habits and habitats. He also has a very good sense of timing, patiently giving each stopping point its due. On the way back to Finca Santa Marta we spotted a Great Bustard in full courtship display. A perfect end to a perfect day".

Barbara Vagliano (USA), Private Trip Extremadura, March 2006

      "...Many thanks for all your superb efforts last week in making my first trip to Extremadura so successful and truly memorable. I am sure all in the party will retain those very special birding moments for ever. Thanks also for your patience and understanding in responding - to what my family tell me can be – rather repetitious questioning."

Peter Thorpe (UK), Extremadura, March 2006

      "...Safely back in Finland. It is still exceptionally warm, 10 C and raining. Tuula and I enjoyed very much our trip on friday. It was nice to meet you, the trip was professionally organised and we had very good luck seeing so many birds (Spanish Imperial Eagles, Azure-winged Magpies, Black and Griffon Vultures, Hoopoes, Great Bustards, Little Bustards, Black-bellied Sandgrouse...). Many thanks."

Pekka and Tuula Salovaara (Finland), Private Trip to Madrid, November 2005

      "...We spent a day birdwatching within an hour of Madrid with Santiago Villa. It is amazing what can be seen in the area and we were delighted to see magnificent views of Spanish Imperial Eagle, Black Vulture and Eagle Owl amongst the 50 + birds we saw in the day. Santiago is a great guide and a very congenial companion. A great day."

Roger Theobald (UK), posted at The Guardian Unlimited, Private Trip to Madrid, October 2005

      "...Seņor Villa was our courteous and cheerful guide for seven highly enjoyable days of migration watching in the Tarifa region of Spain. 'Santi' was very knowledgeable and had a good local network which brought us two life ticks in Rüppell's vulture and Little swift. We saw the spectacle of the migration from the view points and the beach (where we got the closest views) of raptors and storks and inland we drove through a 'snowstorm' of swallows and yellow wagtails going to roost in their tens of thousands in the rice fields. We saw over 100 species and took many pictures of the wildlife. A brilliant week that is to be recommended. Thank you Santi!"

Phillip and Lesley Hassel (UK), Andalucia: Migration To Africa, September 2005

      "Santiago: I found your knowledge of the birds in Spain to be outstanding as well as where to find them. And your enthusiasm was infectious. Thanks for the trip! Good birding and good luck"

Terry Baltimore (USA), Private Trip to Madrid, August 2005

      "...I and a colleague spent two days in the Pyrenees with Santi as our guide in June this year. Between the two of us we saw all the target birds and had a most enjoyable trip. Santi is an excellent guide and a nice friendly guy to boot. We can certainly recommend him, it was our second trip with him."

Gary Hayward (UK), Private Trip to Pyrenees, June 2005

      "...As our local guide, Santi knew exactly where to look for our target birds and did not disappoint. Sites visited included the Gredos (Bluethroat, Rock Thrush), the Jerte Valley (Dipper, Kingfisher), Monfrague (raptors galore), the plains of Trujillo and Caceres (rollers, bustards, sandgrouses, magpies, cuckoos, and a wayward Waldrapp's Ibis), the mouth of the Guadalhorce (White-headed Duck, shorebirds), Donana (flamingoes, Red-knobbed Coot, more shorebirds, nightjars), and Huelva (Ferruginous Duck, Audouin's Gull). All this plus thick-knees, wagtails, accentors, pipits, owls, wheatears, tits, larks, orioles, and 14 species of warblers AND herps and butterflies to boot. We even managed to squeeze in a few cultural visits (i.e., Trujillo, Merida, Cordoba, the Alhambra, Ronda) in our "free" time. Mil gracias a Santi for realizing such a fine trip with such good humor and grace!"

Jim Rowoth (USA), Central & South Spain Tour (with Jaeger Tours), May 2005

      "...Thanks for a really enjoyable trip to Extremadura and Doņana. All of the arrangements for the trip were excellent: the accommodation, the food, the transport - even the weather! And of course we saw some great birds. For me the highlights were probably the raptors in Monfragüe, but Great Spotted Cuckoo has to be bird of the trip for me. Not only did we get great views, but it was also a lifer for me. We even managed a few "rarities" for Spain: Long-legged Buzzard, Red-necked Phalarope and Little Gull were all unexpected but very welcome. Thanks also for letting me practise my Spanish on you. By the time I come on my next Spainbirds trip I promise to have found the proper translation of "flat flan" :-)"

Pete Yendl (UK), Extremadura & Doņana Tour, May 2005

      "...never to be forgotten sight of 120 raptors all at once circling above us as we got out of the minibus in the mountains... and for me the fabulous collared pratincole that just sat there by the water on one of our stops as we drove from the airport to Trujillo enabling us to see every detail of its markings. The most amusing moment was coming face to face with a peacock on opening the bedroom window on our first morning not what we expected at all!! It could well have joined us for breakfast if we had not shut the window at once!"

Audrey and Ronald Milner (UK), Extremadura & Doņana Tour, May 2005

      "...I know I said that I would write a trip report on the May visit to your lovely country, but I find that I have not the time, however I am sending you the photo that you requested of the birders looking for the red-knobbed coot. Hope the trips you did in rest of May went well, still have fond memories of the time we spent in Spain and have shown lots of people the photos."

Stephanie K. (UK), Extremadura & Doņana Tour, May 2005

      "...Just a quick line to thank you so much for all your efforts last week to ensure our trip was such a success. It far outweighed my expectations. I hope you enjoyed it even though it must have been tiring with all the long days and driving. I really enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you soon."

Nick Dalton (UK), Digiscoping Trip To Extremadura, April 2005

      "...All in all, the week was a memorable one and one I would wish to repeat. I learnt a lot about birds and birding (and birders). I also learned a lot about digiscoping and that it takes a lot of skill, patience, organisation and much more practice. Last, and by no means least, Spain is a wonderful country and the Extremadura region is extra special. Thank you to Paul and Santi.."

John Gibson (UK), Digiscoping Trip To Extremadura, April 2005

      "...We travelled with Santiago for about a week in western Spain and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. He knew the area and the birds extremely well. He was a pleasant companion and was both considerate and flexible in meeting our needs. Highly recommended."

Howard Winner (USA), Extremadura & Gredos, April 2004

      "...We enjoyed Spain very much for its birds, scenery, and way of life, but were disappointed at how much Spanish we'd forgotten! We especially enjoyed the wetland tour and are quite impressed with your knowledge both of where the wetlands are and how they are used by birds."

Milton and Doris Weller (USA), Extremadura & Doņana Tour and Wetlands Of Central Spain Private Trip, April 2004

      "...I am glad that Chris recommended you! At 32, you seem to have spent your life preparing for Gary and my visit to Madrid to show us the lives of birds. Your tour was perfect and rich for our experience. We hope that you will continue to acquire and offer your knowledge. Travelers will appreciate your access to the great environmental preserves around Madrid and your reverence for nature."

Kathy Wallace (USA), Private Trip To Madrid, March 2004

      "...This week I had occasion to tell the wife of my statistics teacher about his appreciation for statistics over 35 years and how he offers genius not accessible from the book. Dr. Frankiewicz takes students to places that only a long time master can reach. Santiago, the Madrid Birder behind Spainbirds.com, is such a master. He began birdwatching at age 9 and shares a profound appreciation and reverence for nature. We spent a 9 hour day with him as our personal guide; he took us to where Spanish kings hunted and where eagles soar among cliffs with Madrid in the distance."

Gary Greer (USA), Private Trip To Madrid, March 2004

      "...Thank you again for a wonderful time. We will certainly look you up at the Bird Fair and hopefully in Spain again. We had a great time and learned a lot birdwatching with you and following your advice after you left managed to see more. Best Wishes an many Thanks again for all your advice and most of all your friendship"

Fergus & Gerry Sweeney (Ireland), Extremadura In Winter, December 2003

      "...My husband Bob and I only had one day for birding during our visit to Madrid, yet we were able to see many "life birds" on our 1 day tour. Santiago picked us up at our hotel and took us to many interesting areas around Madrid we never would have found on our own. The highlight of the day was seeing Great Bustards! We highly recommend Santiago for an excellent birdwatching adventure even if you only have one day!

Bridget and Bob Markey (USA), May 2003